Left to right: Assembly Member Al Muratsuchi, Major General (Ret.) Thomas D. Taverney, Donna Duperron, President & CEO, John C. Karas (Honoree), and Brigadier General D. Jason Cothern

As a member of the Honorary Commanders program, I was honored to attend the Schriever Wall of Ceremony this past Friday at Space Systems Command, Los Angeles Air Force Base. Brigadier General D. Jason Cothern and Major General (ret) Thomas D. Taverney welcomed me and provided remarks during the ceremony.

In 2007, the Air Force Association’s Schriever Chapter 147, with support from industry partners, sponsored and commissioned the Statue of General Bernard A. Schriever. In November 2007, the Space & Missile Systems Center (SMC) dedicated the Statue and Wall as the General Schriever Memorial. The 60th SMC anniversary in 2014 was chosen as the initial occasion to recognize some of the earliest pioneers who have made tremendous contributions to our community by adding their names to the Schriever Wall of Honor.

Every year additional pioneers are chosen to have their names added to the Schriever Wall of Honor. The 2022 honorees are Lt. General Roger G. DeKok, Dr. Richard D. DeLauer, Mr. John Karas, Mr. William Maikisch, Dr. Harold A. Rosen, and Lt. General Kenneth W. Schultz.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This